Make Your Own Medicines And Save Big | Homestead & Survival

http://homestead-and-survival.com/make-your-own-medicines-and-save-big/

A trip to the doctor when you are sick may often result in payments that are not expected. You may pay for an office visit in addition to the cost of a prescription or over-the-counter medication. If you need to take an over-the-counter medication, then the cost is often pricey. One option is to make your own medicines at home.

You can easily make your own medicines to treat a lot of common ailments. This can easily be done to seek relief from flu-like symptoms and issues related to the common cold. Natural remedies will easily work just as good as expensive medications you can buy at a grocery store. They will also be cheaper than any other store bought items. If you want to make your own medicines, then a few details need to be known.

One important detail to know if you want to make your own medicines is having all the ingredients for the medicine you want to make. A few ingredients that are needed for homemade medicines may already be in your kitchen. If you are missing a few important items, then you might want to look online. Another option is to look at a local health store or at your local grocery store.

A few items in your kitchen are needed to make your own medicines. This includes bowls to mix all of your the ingredients. Heat is also a component that is needed to make homemade medicines. Your stove will be used to supply the heat and means a sauce pan will be needed.

You will also need a container to use when you make your own medicines. You can use any containers that are made of plastic or glass for your homemade medicine.

Instructions to make your own medicines are found on amamasstory.com here…

http://http://amamasstory.com/2013/02/make-your-own-medicine-and-save-big.html

Sometimes folks think natural remedies are out of their budget, but my good friend Jill from Jill’s Home Remedies shares how you can save money making your own medicine!
Several years ago when I began using natural remedies for my family during times of illness, I was impressed with 3 things:

How well natural remedies worked. There were no harmful short-term or long-term effects on health How much money I saved by not going to the doctor!

Even with insurance, my co-pays 10 years ago were $25 a visit, plus the cost of medicine.  Today, my co-pays are $45 a visit, plus the cost of medicine.  Realizing I could purchase a bottle of natural medicine for $10-$20 that lasted us for several sicknesses, I really began to appreciate not only finding a healthy way to treat my family’s sickness, but a much more affordable way!

About three or four years ago, I began making my own natural medicines for my family.  It used to seem quite a daunting task to attempt anything like making medicines.  I thought a person had to have a science lab to attempt such a feat.  However, after watching a few YouTube videos, reading a few herbal books, and making my own medicines, I was again struck with 3 things:

How well my own medicines worked How very easy and do-able it was to make my own medicine How I could save even more money by making my own!

While I make more medicines than what is listed below, I’m going to highlight the savings on 4 remedies I make.

1.  Elderberry Syrup

Purchasing: $19.75
Making: $10

Savings: $9.75 

Here’s my favorite recipe for elderberry syrup:

2 cups dried elderberries

4 cups water

3 cups raw honey

1cup raw apple cider vinegar

Bring berries and water to a boil and simmer for about 30 minutes.  Mash berries and strain through a cheesecloth or a fine strainer.  Stir in honey and vinegar.  Pour into jar.  Store in the refrigerator for 3 months.

Dosage:

Child – take 1 tsp. daily

 Adults – take 1 tbsp. daily

(Or hourly if sick)

2.  Cough Medicine

Purchasing: $8.50
Making: $3.50

Savings: $5.00

Cough Medicine Recipe:

2 large onions
Raw honey

Directions:
Cut 2 large onions and place in double boiler (if you have one).
Cover with raw honey at least 1/2 inch above the onions.

Simmer on very low heat until the onions become translucent {about 3 hours}.  Strain the onions and store in a jar in the refrigerator up to 3 months.

Dosage: 
Adults can take 1 Tbs. and children 1 tsp. of the syrup up to every 15 minutes as needed.  Allow the syrup to slowly trickle down the throat as you take it.

3.  Echinacea Tincture

Purchasing: $16.49
Making: $2.25

Savings: $14.24

My favorite way to make an echinacea tincture is to purchase Double E Immune Booster from the Bulk Herb Store, and make a glycerin tincture with the herbal mix!  You can click here to watch me make this tincture!

4.  Calcium Formula

Purchasing: $11.04
Making: $1.40

Savings:  $9.64

For the calcium formula, I use the recipe found in Herbal Home Health Care.  This recipe uses equal parts of horsetail grass, comfrey {or nettle}, oat straw and lobelia.  These herbs make an excellent, easy assimilable calcium!  Once again, I made a glycerin tincture using the instructions mentioned in the video above.

Now I am one of those DIY, save-all-the-money-I-can kind of girls.  Making my own medicines is so easy and so much fun!  But, there are a lot of people that do not like to make their own things, but would rather purchase it already made.  This is fine!  Those of you that prefer this will still save a lot of money by treating your family at home with bought, natural remedies!

(As always, please remember that information on this blog is not intended to treat, diagnose, or cure any disease. While many are able to use natural remedies in their home with success, please use your best judgment and seek medical attention if the need arises.)

Leave a Reply

